Relgious Fruitcake Baby Snatchers?

Chat about anything to do with farang life in Thailand or anywhere in the world

Relgious Fruitcake Baby Snatchers?

Postby saf » Sun Jan 31, 2010 2:01 pm

Could these 10 people really have been so naive? According to current news reports, they travelled from the US to Haiti, rented a 45 room hotel and started to pick up children aged from 2 months to 10 years. Then they attempted to take them to the Dominican Republic where these christians claim to have a refuge for them. They had no documentation, no parental consent agreements and no proof that any of the children were orphans. If the Haitian officials, overwhelmed as they must be at present, had not spotted what was about to happen those children may never have been heard of again.

Are they genuine people, these 10, but very naive? It's hard to accept that people who genuinely work to help children in need would be willing to circumvent procedures intended to protect children from abuse and abduction. In any case, the hotel that they had rented for the children would have provided a better place to care for them until either their parents were found or the local authorities were ready to determine what should happen next. What was their hurry to get the children away? Are they traffickers looking to sell the children to desperate childless couples? Are they paedophiles looking to abuse the children or sell them to other paedophiles? Are they religiously dysfunctional people who have got into such a state of suggestibility and self-obsession with their brains tucked firmly where their god don't shine that they were convinced it was a good idea?

These dangerous people claim to be from the New Life Children's Refuge, Idaho, USA. Do a Google search for the website. Any luck? Try again, omitting 'Idaho' this time. Better luck? But can you see a website that is unmistakably the official one for this Refuge? Perhaps you are led to some blog sites that are no longer accessible. Would you, perhaps, expect a genuine charity to have an official website describing its mission, proving its credentials and describing methods for making donations? I can't find one. These people are after money too, by the way - for their establishment in the Dominican Republic.

Here's an SFP report on the subject. I think that there will be more:

http://www.google.com/hostednews/afp/ar ... jhjT57XvIw
User avatar
saf
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1526
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 8:35 pm
Location: Thailand

Return to Coffee Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest